Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-30-2013, 02:53 AM   #1 
Graceful

Question Low-light plants?

Hi!

I am new - both to bettas and this forum - so I apologize in advance for all the questions! :)

I'm planning on starting my first aquarium. I have my eye on a 10-gallon tank with a filter and light. I will be getting a male betta and some tank-mates - tetras, a few shrimp, snails, et cetera. I'd also love to have real plants.

I will be keeping the tank by my front door, where it is not dark but there is no direct sunlight.

What are some plants/mosses that thrive with no direct natural light? And what kind of soil, sand, or gravel would be best for them?

Thank you in advance!
Graceful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 08:32 AM   #2 
Emmalee01

Hi there :)
I'm no expert on plants, but I believe that Java moss and Java fern are good low light plants that should be fine in that set up. They don't need to be planted either- Java fern just needs to be tied to a rock or ornament (can be done with string or fishing line) until it becomes attached. Java moss just floats in the tank. I'm sure some other expert will know of more low light plants :). Also, be aware that some Bettas will eat certain shrimp species, and some shrimp species can even harm your Betta- I'm unsure of which species of shrimp would work out best but I'm sure someone else will know.

Welcome to the forum (I'm not often on here myself)

Emily
Emmalee01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 09:14 AM   #3 
Mashiro

Welcome to the forums!

Okay, is it a fluorescent light? Do you happen to know the wattage?

You want to make sure your tank is cycled before putting in all these creatures as well.

Please refer to the stickies if you need to learn about the nitrogen cycle.
Mashiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 01:38 PM   #4 
DefStatic