Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-02-2013, 09:17 PM   #1 
scoobie

Exclamation Help I've rescued a sick Betta!!

Hello, I am new to this. I have recently rescued a Betta on Monday. He was in a gallon tank at work. The owner put some type of small frog in the tank on a Friday and Monday his tail looked chewed on so she took the frog out. Then the fish started getting white patches, so we bought ich medication and some other stuff. Each time the tank was cleaned the next day the water was cloudy. The fish quit eating about a week ago, his lips were swollen, eyes were huge and cloudy and he just lays on his plant. They gave up on him but I refused to, so I brought him home. I bought a 5 gallon tank yesterday, with pump, filter and heater and all new stuff. I was told to only use Distilled water to fill it. The water was clear until today. Then I read not to use Distilled water which scared me so I took out about a gallon of water and replaced it with tap water and added the conditioner. His eyes are almost back to normal now, but he isn't active. He stays at the top of the tank in the corner. Please help I don't want him to die.
scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:37 PM   #2 
veggiegirl

Any chance that you could post a photo of him? it would give us a better idea of what is going on. Triple Sulfa might be a good treatment option but let us see a photo first....then we can decide.
veggiegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:46 PM   #3 
scoobie

I don't know how to post the pics. But I added an album with 5 pics. I've been treating him since Monday. How long will it take for him to get better? I'm worried because he won't eat.

Last edited by scoobie; 05-02-2013 at 10:50 PM.
Old 05-02-2013, 11:08 PM   #4 
jadaBlu