Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-03-2013, 07:51 AM   #1 
scoobie

Exclamation I've rescued a Betta and need help

Hello, I am new to this. I have recently rescued a Betta on Monday. He was in a gallon tank at work. The owner put some type of small frog in the tank on a Friday and Monday his tail looked chewed on so she took the frog out. Then the fish started getting white patches, so we bought ich medication and some other stuff. Each time the tank was cleaned the next day the water was cloudy. The fish quit eating about a week ago, his lips were swollen, eyes were huge and cloudy and he just lays on his plant. They gave up on him but I refused to, so I brought him home. I bought a 5 gallon tank yesterday, with pump, filter and heater and all new stuff. I was told to only use Distilled water to fill it. The water was clear until today. Then I read not to use Distilled water which scared me so I took out about a gallon of water and replaced it with tap water and added the conditioner. His eyes are almost back to normal now, but he isn't active. He stays at the top of the tank in the corner. Please help I don't want him to die.
He's been on Ick drops and Melafix for about 2 weeks. This past Monday I started him on Fungas Clear Fizz Tabs and the Start Zyme. Today I did a 50% water change. I am new to this please help.
scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 08:50 AM   #2 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team

Oh goodness, the poor thing!

Okay first things first, don't use distilled water and glad you did stop using it for the conditioner. Basically warm clean water is going to clear up most of his problems.

Stop using Melafix, it also eventually coats their labyrinth organ and will suffocate him!