Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-13-2008, 03:56 PM   #1 
kgirl

Would Someone Please Help Me

Hi,
I have a relatively large fascination for fishies but I'm not very experienced with them and the fish I've had before didn't last very long. So I would like to have some questions answered if I may. Any and all help or advice is appreciated.

I have currently have two male bettas and I like them alot so I want to make sure I'm doing everything I can for them to keep them happy and healthy :)
I Have my red/green one (Karei) in a 2.5 gallon plastic aquarium right now and I have my blue one (Reahu) in an ordinary glass fish bowl.
I have a 10 gallon glass tank I want to put them in. It has had some different sorts of fish in it, it is pretty dirty. Which brings us to my first question.

Is there something I can use as a cleaner to rid all the dirty scum and germs out of the tank so it doesn't affect my bettas?
I've used regular soap before and washed it out very well I thought but when I put my last betta in it he died
So I want to prevent this from ever happening again.
Also, I've heard that if you put bettas in the same tank and block them off from eachother they can give eachother bad germs...is this true?
I used to change all of the water in their tank and add new water that is the same temperature as it was before, but, I was discouraged from this method. Now I have a filter that makes the really cool bubbles and I take 50 percent of the water out and suck up all the little chunks of debris that I can find. Is this a better way to clean the tank?
I've heard many many many different name brands and types of food to feed them. I currently feed them "Betta Pellet Food" by "Aqua Culture."
It looks like little tiny circular nuggets lol I don't know how to explain it differently. Hopefully someone will know what I'm talking about.
Is this an ok food for them?