Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-05-2013, 10:31 PM   #1 
MadMay

What will I get color wise?

I know this is a pain in the butt questions since dad was a pet store betta and there for genetics are unknown but my fry are showing their iridensence now and some have purple sheen. Im thinking they may be copper as mother carries it although she herself is not referance pics in my spawn log of parents and here are the dams parents that the breeder took and was nice enough to send me. I was thinking I would get predominantly red marbles with maybe a couple orange but I am still learning on color genetics.
Attached Images

MadMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:40 AM   #2 
Mahsfish

You will not get any marbles unless it is in their genes. Also, you will get mainly reds since it is dominant. And being that the dad is from a petstore you may get a bunch of random guys aswell
Mahsfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:37 AM   #3 
Basement Bettas

Probably multi colors. That tends to be what you get with real unrelated colors.
Basement Bettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 09:08 AM   #4 
MadMay

The mother is actually a red in white marble she only has red on her caudal when I got her when she just white. So thats where I was getting marble. I figured I would get mostly red.
Old 05-06-2013, 12:47 PM   #5 
indjo
TFK Moderator

IME copper (red) x platinum . . . (not considering their background)
Probability: multi copper (red copper), some may look more red than others. Green/turquoise multi (some might be metallic green). Cambodian like colors with various irid levels. Maybe few white platinum, and even yellow (depending on background - all multi). Since female has marble background, some might be marbles (what ever color)
indjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:12 PM   #6 
MadMay