Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-19-2008, 09:21 PM   #1 
bc100903

Just getting started

I've always wanted a fish for my office and have finally decided to take the plunge. There is alot of conflicting information on web and everyone seems to have different experiences and different opinions. But I welcome it all.

I only have room for a 3 gallon tanks (which actually only hold slightly less than 2.5 gallons). I purchased it from Petsmart. It's an eclipse 3 gallon with a built in filter system and light and a bio-wheel.

I set it up on Sunday and haven't purchased my Betta yet. Since I'm new to this whole fish thing, I'd like to ask some questions. I've been scouring the internet for information to insure that when I do get my fish I can provide the best home possible.

Okay here goes..

I read that I need to cycle my tank, but I haven't really found out how to do it. Plese explain cycling.

1) Where is the best place to buy my Betta? I love the deep turquiose or blue with a full tail. But healthy is most important.

2) I've read live plants are the best, is there a preferred plant/moss?

3) Does he need a cave or dark place?

4) What is their preferred food? I've ready everything from pellets to worms and an occassional brine shrimp.

5) How often do a need to change the water? Ive heard 1 weekly and then I've read with the type of tank I have it only needs it every 2 - 4 weeks?

6) Can I get a snail or other species to help keep the tank clean?

7) Do I really need a heater? My office stays warm, I'm afraid even a 25 watt will keep the water too warm.

8) Is my Betta going to be okay if he doesn't get fed on the weekend?

I'm not in a hurrry to get my Betta, I just want to do it right.

Thanks, BC
bc100903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:58 PM   #2 
iamntbatman

Quote: