Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-08-2013, 10:25 AM   #1 
AmyMarie

New Betta owner-something is wrong

Hi everybody. I need some help. My son really wanted a fish tank for his 3rd birthday. So I bought a book about fish and read it. We got him a three gallon tank, with one betta in it. I filled it with conditioned water and let it run for over 24 hours before we put the betta fish in it on Sunday. Yesterday (Tuesday) I noticed that the end of his tail fin was rimmed with black. There is more black today and the fin in front of the black looks a little translucent. Is this fin rot? Or something else? What do I do to treat it? I've never had a fish tank before, so I'm a complete newbie. Any and all advice would be appreciated. Please help me save my son's fish!

Thanks,
Amy
AmyMarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:39 AM   #2 
Minnieservis

That does sound like fin rot.

Here is what I copied from the thread on treatments:

•Symptoms: Betta’s fins and/or tail seem to be getting shorter and shorter or they seem to be falling apart and dissolving, Black or red along the edge of the betta’s fins/tail, Bloody tips, Behavior may not change
Treatment: Conservative: Treat with Aq.Salt at 1 tsp/gal. Increase water changes to 100% daily. Replace accurate amount of salt following water changes. Add Stress Coat to help repair tissue. If there is little to no improvement within the first 5 days, you can increase the salt dosage gradually to 2tsp/gal but do not continue any salt treatments past 10 days. Medication: If Conservative treatment is ineffective use API Tetracycline, API Fungus Cure, API Triple Sulfa, OR API Erythromycin. Also add Stress Coat to help regrowth. Continue until fins/tail stop receding and start showing some new growth.

Good luck! :)
Minnieservis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:46 AM   #3 
AmyMarie