Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Pictures
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-10-2013, 11:35 PM   #1 
Skyr

Roped into the hobby: My first Betta

Well I didn't go to the Petsmart to get a betta today, but to get plants to set up the aquarium to get one another day. Except I had to stop and look and fell in love with two males.. I had to choose one or the other, and I picked the one that seemed more active and had a beautiful red to his fins, but a teal-ish body. The other was all blue except the blue faded to white at the tips. He was quite gorgeous as well.. A part of me wants to run back and put the 5 gallon to use for him. @_@

So here are some pictures! (They are cell pictures, so sorry for quality. Seems my good camera has eaten all the batteries)

First those of when he was in his cup:

I'm in love with his colour, I don't regret getting him at all. Petsmart labled him as a Halfmoon, as I'm new to the hobby I can't be as certain. I have seen him flare a few times on the trip home, he saw his reflection at the bottom of the cup and was trying to attack his reflection.

My tank was basically set up when I got him, all I needed to do was add plants to the tank. He had a rather stressful introduction, for both of us. Somehow his cup cracked while I was floating it in the tank water and while trying to move him to a new container to continue it properly he jumped out of the water entirely.. So I scooped him up and put him in the tank because by that point I had knocked over the cup with his water in it anyhow. He had been floating for a good hour though and had begun to mix waters. He seems fine though.

Here's his tank and some photos of him swimming around. He seems both curious and skittish of me, but he doesn't hang out only at the bottom, and he did eat a pellet or two that I dropped in while he went up for a breath.