Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2013, 05:25 PM   #1 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team
 
RussellTheShihTzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennessee
Filter Question

I have a Mini Might filter that came with the Hawkeye 5-gallon set up. The output is too strong for Willie and is not adjustable. I am going change it out for a Tom Mini internal filter. The Tom filter is adjustable and has that bar thingy.

My question is: Can I unplug the Mini Might and leave it in the tank while the Tom filter is seeding? Will the output of the Tom's be enough to keep water flowing around/through the Mini Might (they'll be next to each other with the bar facing the back of the tank). Or do I need to let the Mini Might and Tom filter both run and, if so, for how long?

Thank you so much.

Last edited by RussellTheShihTzu; 05-13-2013 at 05:25 PM. Reason: Typo
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:04 PM   #2 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team
 
RussellTheShihTzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennessee
I need to add: I have shut down the Mini Might and just have the Tom filter going. Willie is now using the entire tank. If I won't lose my BB, I'd like to keep the MM off since Willie is more comfortable that way. I'v Googled every phrase I can think of but can't find the answer.

Thank you.
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 11:26 AM   #3 
Nicci Lu
Member
 
Nicci Lu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Boonies, Arizona
Can you take some of the media out of the old filter and put it in the new? That would seem to be the most effective way of seeding, and then you can remove the old completely.
Nicci Lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 09:03 PM   #4 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team
 
RussellTheShihTzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennessee
Wish I could but the old is a cartridge and the new is sponge. I'm running both.
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 04:56 AM   #5 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Take the cartridge out and place it somewhere in the flow from the new filter, either inlet or outlet---behind the spray bar for instance---for a couple of weeks.

If it's the one I'm thinking of, the Tom Mini is an internal filter (not a sponge filter which runs on air from an air pump).


Hmmm...actually, the Tom Mini doesn't have a very large media/foam block. You might just want to keep your old media in there to increase area for your bacteia, just for peace of mind.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:11 AM   #6 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team
 
RussellTheShihTzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennessee
Thank you.
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 06:49 AM   #7 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicci Lu View Post
Can you take some of the media out of the old filter and put it in the new? That would seem to be the most effective way of seeding, and then you can remove the old completely.
I agree.

You can always take a pair of scissors to the old media to make it fit....


Sent from Petguide.com App
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.