Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-13-2013, 01:05 PM   #1 
Hawtt

Not sure if filter is working

I have a small mini might filter that came with my 3.5 gal aquarium and I am not sure if its working, should I buy a new one? Reason I say this is because I see almost a thin film of stuff on the surface of the water and i see the tiniest particles floating in the water. I tested the water and it seems fine but I wanted to see what you guys thought first and I also wanted to ask if theres anything bad about getting a new filter because I heard that the new filter will somehow harm my betta (im new to bettas so im not sure)
Hawtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 10:24 PM   #2 
sandybottom
Reference Team

the thin film is probably oily protein from feeding. adding surface terbulence usually gets rid of this. since its a new filter, keep up on water changes and testing as your filter goes through cycling. until it cycles fully there will be ammonia and nitrite spikes that can endanger your fish. if you are unfamiliar with tank cycling there are some stickies you should read on this site. the mini might filters at 45 gal/hr which is great for a 3.5 gallon.the tiny particles could be a bacterial bloom or left over food.sometimes the water will get cloudy when you add a new filter.as long as the filter isn't making any weird noises and appears to be working correctly, i would just wait it out a little bit. just make sure you are assessing the fish daily and feed very sparingly at this point, so the water doesn't fowl on you. i would test the water either daily or every other day for ammo and nitrites.hope this helps.
sandybottom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:09 PM   #3 
Hawtt

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandybottom View Post