Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-13-2013, 10:13 PM   #1 
Gallium

Evaluate Silver Platium Purple PK male?

I picked him up 3 days ago so he may still color up more. The purple is visible to the naked eye and is not iridescence. He has a bit of copper overtone/iridescence to the fins in the sunlight.

I'm relatively new to bettas (I had some a few years back, never bred any) but would like to start learning about the very basics of breeding (separate from genetics) so I'd like to learn how to evaluate potential breeders? If you could simplify and/or not use abbreviation that'd be great since I'm not 100% familiar with them all yet.

He's relatively young, good feisty male, decent coloration, and has 4 fin rays (I think?)
Gallium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:41 PM   #2 
indjo
TFK Moderator

Basically when choosing breeders, you look at their fins - genetics. So it would be a good idea if you read the basics of genetic.

If lucky, you get a good father that will care for the fry until they're big enough. But also be prepared for those egg/fry eaters, in which case you need to remove both male and female as soon as spawning is complete.

Your guy is pretty good. Perhaps you could breed him to a double tail and hopefully improve his overall fins. Try to look for a double tail with long front dorsal rays. And it could also improve his caudal - adding more rays to it.

Good luck.
indjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:43 PM   #3 
MattsBettas
Reference Team

I'm still learning about the finnage of plakats but his dont look too bad, and I absolutely love his color. If your going to get into breeding I can not stress how important being knowledgeable about genetics is.
MattsBettas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:49 PM   #4 
Gallium