Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-19-2013, 02:10 PM   #1 
Deanna01

Breeding against show standards?

Hi. I'm new to the hobby and considering breeding in a few years, once I know more about it--certainly not before I've researched it and am thoroughly ready!

I'm curious about something, though. On Aquabid, I see a ton of Taiwanese bettas that go for a lot of money but that I suspect wouldn't meet show standards--usually because of unusual color variations or "monster" white faces, etc.

Do most people who breed bettas in the US do so to meet show standards, or are there breeders who are trying to appeal to the pet market with high-quality, unusual bettas, as well? Who in the US does that, if so?
Deanna01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 03:40 PM   #2 
LittleBettaFish

How many betta owners actually show? I have been in the hobby three or so years now, have produced dozens of fish and yet have never attended a single show (was debating whether to enter one this year just for fun).

There are probably many more pet homes than show homes for fish. Unless you are producing fish that you intend on showing, or selling as show prospects, I honestly think the standards for bettas don't really matter that much.

If you look at it, bettas really don't have any other function than being beautiful pets. In most countries, you can't fight bettas any more, which was their original purpose. So really the only thing being bred for now is the aggressive temperament and beauty.

I think the pet market is stronger in most countries than the show market.

However, even as a pet breeder, I think you should aim to produce the healthiest and most high quality stock you can. No point in just aiming the bar low because you aren't a 'show breeder' and churning out fish that are going to get cull prices.