Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2013, 06:51 PM   #1 
jesssan2442
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: texas
how long does aquarium water need to sit?

I have an empty 10g that I filled with water last week and I'm wondering if I can use the water for PWC on my four tanks... I'm almost out of conditioner and I don't know when I'll be able to go to the store again... I'm not sure if my water contains chlorine or chloramine (not sure on spelling), I've heard that water has to sit any where from 2 days to a few weeks and I'd like a more specific answer! I can make time to go to the store if this is not a suitible amount of time, it would be a good excuse to go to the petstore
jesssan2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 06:58 PM   #2 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
A week SHOULD be fine... But letting the water sit will never remove heavy metals. Chlorine evaporates fairly quickly and chloramine takes quite a bit longer. I would personally try to get water conditioner but chances are they will be fine.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:02 PM   #3 
Stone
Member
 
Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
+1 to what matt said 48 hours is usually long enough for water to sit but no amount of sitting gets rid of the heavy metals
Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:04 PM   #4 
jesssan2442
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: texas
ok I'll see if I can make it to the petstore tomorrow because my water change day is thursday and I like to do them early in the morning before I start all the stuff I have for the day!!
jesssan2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:12 PM   #5 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I thought chloramine doesn't actually evaporate. Therefore, leaving it out for a day or a week isn't going to make a difference.

I think they put chloramine in a lot of municipal water sources nowadays, so I would personally not risk it.
LittleBettaFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:32 PM   #6 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
I don't think they add chloramine here... But if ammonia ever gets into the water then it bonds with the chlorine and makes the more toxic chloramine. I researched it and apparently chloramine does not evaporate but it does break down. What it breaks down into is still toxic though, but this can all be stopperd with water conditioner.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:33 PM   #7 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Chloramines can be removed by aging, but for all intents and purposes the length of time required to do so is not feasible. One would need several holding tanks, just for a normal water hangs schedule. Water conditioner is much cheaper and takes up much less space.


Sent from Petguide.com App
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:34 PM   #8 
Corsica
Member
 
Corsica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central Arizona
Good info! I'd like to ask a question along the same lines. How long is too long for conditioned water to sit? I sometimes premix and then don't use everything I have mixed. How long is it safe to sit and still be used for water changes?
Corsica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:36 PM   #9 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
If there are chloramines in the water, the conditioner breaks it down to ammonia and chlorine. Prime (the only one I use, so the only one I know about) detoxifies for up to 24 hours.


Sent from Petguide.com App
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:49 PM   #10 
Corsica
Member
 
Corsica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central Arizona
So would it be ok to recondition water that has been sitting for 24 hours or more? I use Prime and API Stress Coat.
Corsica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it necessary to let water sit for 24 hours before doing a water change DSquad4 Betta Fish Care 12 01-21-2013 03:21 PM
How long should my water sit? BabyBetta0108 Betta Fish Care 4 10-07-2012 11:16 PM
How long should I let the water sit/adjust before adding a betta? EmZajex Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 10-01-2012 07:18 AM
how long die sit take for a betta to heal? rich e rich Betta Fish Care 13 09-18-2012 10:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.