Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-12-2008, 03:56 AM   #1 
acgaslover

tank size, temp, and other questions

I am new to bettas and have had one for about 2 weeks. Before I found this forum, I apparently didn't do the right kind of research and bought the betta kit in the link below.

Lee's Dual Betta Hex at PETCO

It looks like a half gallon but I'm not sure. I also bought another "designer" betta tank that's about the same size. Anyways, I didn't know they had to be at a certain temp so I didn't get a heater. I'm not sure what the temp is currently but the room temp is 70f. I'm sure the water is colder than that but I have no way to heat it until I get a heater.

One of my problems is that I've recently had money problems and have no money to my name for maybe two weeks. Will the betta get too stressed out in the colder water? If so, is there a way I can keep him comfortable until I can afford a bigger tank and a heater? He does seem really active for being in coldish water. I also caught him blowing a bubble nest so I'm guessing he may not be stressed.

Another question is I just got a new betta and he's currently in the designer tank. I'm going to get a bigger tank for him as well. In the meantime, I noticed that all he does is stay on one side of the tank and flare up his gills and tries to attack the side. I think it's because it's reflective and he's being territorial. I didn't know it was reflective until I put him in it. Is there something I can put on the inside walls that is safe for the fish or should I move him into a vase or something until I get his other tank?

Along the lines of the above question, if he's attacking his own reflection, would it be a bad idea to get a 10 gallon tank and put a separater in it or are there some that aren't see through? Should I just get 2 2.5 or 5 gallon tanks then?
acgaslover is offline   Reply With Quote