Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-04-2013, 04:59 PM   #1 
mrluis03

Unhappy Please help Oki! Fin rot :(((

Hello Everyone!
I am fairly new to Bettas. I've done tons of reading and so I've learned a lot before becoming an owner. I finally got a VT Betta named Oki. I noticed that the edges of his fins were black and started to degrade a bit. I knew immediately that he had fin rot. I ran the the store and purchased T.C. Tetracycline from API. I've begun the treatment but I don't know if he is getting better! What are the signs I should be looking for? The box says to do repeat if necessary but how do I know if it is necessary?

Housing
What size is your tank? 2.5g
What temperature is your tank? Room Temp
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? No
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Wardley Betta Food
How often do you feed your betta fish? Once a day, Mornings.

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? Once every 1 week
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 25%-50% and 100% every 2 weeks
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? BettaSafe Water conditioner

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? Yes, a bit of color loss on the body.
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? Seems to rub against the glass more often.
When did you start noticing the symptoms? One week ago
Have you started treating your fish? If so, how? Yes, using T.C. Tetracycline from API.
Does your fish have any history of being ill? Not that I know of.
How old is your fish (approximately)? Ive had him for about 4 weeks.
mrluis03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:10 PM   #2 
NorthernLights