Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-06-2013, 02:11 AM   #1 
RabidAliver

Advice for a beginner planted tank?

I was interested in changing out the decorations in one of my boys' tanks with live plants lately, but I know nothing of what they really NEED as far as plants go. So I have a few questions:

Is a 3 gallon tank even enough to put all live plants in?
Is an artificial sand substrate able to sustain live plants? Or do I need to get some kind of soil?
Will LED lights provide enough light to keep the plants alive?
Are there any other things (like rocks, driftwood, etc.) That need to go into a planted tank?
What are good plants for beginners?

I'm completely new at this and never actually have had a planted tank at all, so any advice and information helps!
RabidAliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:25 AM   #2 
RussellTheShihTzu

A three-gallon can be planted; you just need to make sure you buy plants that won't get too tall. My plants did not do well with LED lights but others may be able to tell you which plants will.

Sand is a good substrate. Whether artificial sand will work depends on what you mean by artificial sand.
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:48 AM   #3 
RabidAliver

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussellTheShihTzu View Post
A three-gallon can be planted; you just need to make sure you buy plants that won't get too tall. My plants did not do well with LED lights but others may be able to tell you which plants will.

Sand is a good substrate. Whether artificial sand will work depends on what you mean by artificial sand.