Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-06-2013, 11:27 PM   #1 
feralhound

Hello all :]

Just wanted to introduce myself. The name's Ely, I'm a college graduate. I have had tropical fish and goldfish throughout my life, although I'll admit I didn't know much about it then, especially since my dad who taught me didn't know very much himself. Since I have recently acquired a 65 gallon tank from my room mate's father (who was going to throw it out from a short notice move) I've made an effort into better understanding this hobby and care for my fish that I love so much (that thank is currently in cycle with 3 African Cichlids).

Last weekend I've rescued two Bettas from a friend, who's coworker was threatening to turn them into fish sticks, or flush them. She had them in a 1/2 gallon divided Betta prison in poor conditions- one of them had velvet. Currently I have the female (I think it's a female) in a larger critter keeper until I get my 5.5 gallon, and the male who is getting over his illness still resides in his 1/2 gallon tank (now without the divider!) until his velvet is completely gone. He's loads better though, is happily swimming around instead of laying at the bottom of the tank and the gold "dusting" had disappeared yesterday when I checked on him.

I'm very excited to have these guys whom I named Fish Stix and Tartar Sauce, they're my first bettas and I'm hoping go about caring for them the correct way, and better educate myself :]
feralhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:59 AM   #2 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team

Hi there! Glad you could join us

Be careful with velvet, it's very contagious and sometimes hard to treat. Even once you see the dusting gone, the parasites could still be there so keep up with 100% daily water changes for him (acclimate him back to his water) and use whatever medicine you are using