Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-09-2013, 10:14 AM   #1 
Aleyshia

Newbbie needing advice

Hi I'm new to bettas, I haven't got one yet but I'm interested in getting one. I lost my two guppies recently (no illness just age) and was told bettas are a good fish. I have a 35litre tank with a light and filter and was wondering if that big enough and what else I should get and consider, I know I need to get a heater also I want to switch to sand would that be alright?
Aleyshia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:05 AM   #2 
Betta Bonnie

thinking of getting a Betta

Betta's are great little fish. That tank would be good. I have 6, each in their own 2.5 gallon tanks. I started with gravel in mine, but removed it as I like the bare bottoms. I san suck up waist and uneaten food with a turkey baster easily that way. I have heard of people using sand without problems, though. They definitely need heaters, water should be kept between 78 to 84 degrees. I do 50% water changes every 2 to 3 days. Betta's are very friendly and beautiful, if you deside on one, you,ll never regret it. Here is one of my pretty boys.
Attached Images

Betta Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:43 AM   #3 
futurevet

Good job asking questions before getting your betta! I will answer some of them but i am not an expert, this is just advice that i have followed.
35 liters is almost 10 gallons, so yes that is great for your betta! What kind of filter do you have? I have heard that some kinds have too strong on water flow and can suck up and tear bettas fins. So I think the best kind is a sponge filter. They also like plants, tall ones are good so they can rest near the surface. I am actually thinking about switching to sand, because I heard that it is easy to use and prettier. :)
futurevet is offline   Reply With Quote