Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-11-2013, 09:09 PM   #1 
lillyandquigly

What's a good breed to breed?

I finally got myself a job so now I'm really thinking about getting a little part of my savings going for breeding bettas. I'm still learning so it'll be a while. Is there a certain breed that's the best? I already know I want to breed butterflies.
I'm thinking of Hm's, are those a good breed to breed? Sorry if I end up bothering you with all of my questions. Is there a special live food that helps them develop the most? Or should I use a large variation? Are there any reputable breeders I could buy from that sell butterflies? I'm not thinking now, it'll probably be more like a year from now. Thanks, Lillian
lillyandquigly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 09:20 PM   #2 
MattsBettas
Reference Team

What "breed" you breed is up to you... What do you like best? Work in that tail type. Hmpk is my favorite, but some people prefer hm, ct, etc. Usually it is not suggested to breed veiltails because you will have a very hard time selling them, but if your goal is to improve the type and sent some to shows to try to get them classed, go for it.

Quality fish can be ordered off aquabid.

The two staple live foods for fry are baby brine shrimp and microworms, but there are others, like vinegar eels. Feeding a variation is best.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 09:28 PM   #3 
Ilikebutterflies

Breed? You mean variation? Because they are all the same breed.
I bred butterflies as well! I am trying to make very clean colors with butterfly rims on giants. I think it makes a flashy fish and therefore something I can readily find homes for. I do not have the type of water it takes for good quality crown tails and I don't care for VT's or DT's. I do like spade tails, delta tails and halfmoons.