Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2013, 09:05 PM   #1 
Flapmon
Member
 
Flapmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Moved cycled filter, now it's not cycling.

It was all done in a 20L tank and now we've moved it into a 2ft fish tank. Everything is set up, pH is perfect -- the ammonia is at 0.25 (god help me) the nitrites have lowered and there's no sign of nitrates.

Do I add stress zyme?

Do I keep doing what I'm doing?

Oh gosh, someone please help me.
Flapmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:49 AM   #2 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Your livestock determines the amount of ammonia, not the size of the tank.
Just keep the ammonia >0.25ppm. The bacteria will catch up shortly.

Can't imagine what StressZyme would do for you except maybe keep the ammonia down; not my favorite way to do that. SZ doesn't have the kind of bacteria that performs the nitrogen cycle.

Prime will keep your ammonia non-toxic for a couple of days without interfering with your cycle.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:55 PM   #3 
waterdog
Member
 
waterdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Baton Rouge Louisiana
Just keep doing what your doing. Actually you are cycling. Your ammonia has to go up a little to get the nitrites to grow.
waterdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:40 AM   #4 
Flapmon
Member
 
Flapmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Thanks guys, I guess it's because we're cycling with fish this time instead of putting food in. I'll keep doing what I'm doing, hopefully it'll work.
Flapmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycling New filter in one tank to be moved to another Jexx Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 8 05-07-2013 05:19 PM
What to do with 5-gallon cycled tank after betta is moved to a hospital tank? TigerRegalia Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 21 12-11-2012 05:09 PM
Is my tank cycled? Or cycling still? Phoxly Betta Fish Care 18 06-17-2010 01:27 AM
Nylons on filter intake? Filter changes? and Prime for cycled tanks? PinkDiamond Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 9 09-04-2009 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.