Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-13-2013, 09:36 AM   #1 
OrangeAugust

my filters are acting stupid.

Hi guys.
I have two filters on my 55 gallon tank and they're not working so well. I forgot what brand they are but they are HOB with 3 types of filtration. I thought the problem was that the sponges are gunky. I've been running the filters for 2 months so I figured it was time to rinse out the sponges (well, actually one overflowed and dripped all over my floor for hours one day until I came home and that's when I decided to clean them out). So I siphoned out some tank water into a bucket and squeezed out the sponges in the bucket. AND EW THEY WERE SO GROSS it turned the water black. ew. I also rinsed out the carbon baggies. I put it all back together, and they were running great. But a week later there was hardly any water coming out again. I cleaned out the sponge of one of them again and then it was working great for less than a week and now it's not working right again. I know I'm supposed to change out the carbon every 6-8 weeks (which I should have done already by now but haven't) but am I supposed to replace the sponge, too?? Then I'd be getting rid of tons of BB! I know I should do one filter at a time, but that's still a whole lot of BB to be getting rid of...
OrangeAugust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 12:44 PM   #2 
shellieca
Reference Team