Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-14-2013, 02:25 AM   #1 
Dwarden3

Effect of Age on Betta breeding?

So I have a few questions about breeding as my betta slowly creeps into it older years. This thread might also help others.

1. Is there an age that female bettas become infertile/unwilling to breed?

2. Will younger females discriminate against older males?

3. Is there an age that male bettas become infertile/ unwilling to breed?

4. Will younger males discriminate against older females?

5. Is it better to breed bettas of a similar age?
a. With the male older? How much older?
b. With the female older? How much older?

Also, for each of these 5, are there any changes in spawn size from any of these conditions? If so, I'd love to have them listed, or even ranked.
I am sorry if this seems kinda noobish, but I am completely new to betta breeding, and I want to know all outcomes before trying it out.

Thanks a ton!
Dwarden3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:46 AM   #2 
whatsupyall

Hmm.. I've always managed to breed all bettas that were active. Usually they die or get sick by the time they stop breeding for me. Besides, unless you bred it or followed a spawn log, there is practically no way to know the age of the betta. Lastly, they do not discriminate against age. But you should keep in mind the size different. I believe most people prefer bigger male to female for embracing and better fertilization of the eggs, and other reasons. Anyway, good luck on your journey Dwarden3. Don't forget this forum is filled with vast information, so don't hesitate to use the search button lol.
whatsupyall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:21 AM   #3 
indjo
TFK Moderator

NO - to all question.