Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
View Poll Results: Is substrate needed for a betta tank?
Yes 15 40.54%
Nope 22 59.46%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2013, 12:30 AM   #1 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Is substrate needed for a betta?

Some say yes, some say no....so what is it? What do you think? Why?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 12:39 AM   #2 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
Without substrate you would want clean up the poop daily as there is nothing absorb it. I saw one person had painted the bottom of their tank in some neat way so that might be an option. I find the water stays fresher with it but initially when I get fish they often are in quarantine without it. I figure it doesn't give parasites a place to stay and lay eggs if they have them.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 12:58 AM   #3 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadaBlu View Post
Without substrate you would want clean up the poop daily as there is nothing absorb it. I saw one person had painted the bottom of their tank in some neat way so that might be an option. I find the water stays fresher with it but initially when I get fish they often are in quarantine without it. I figure it doesn't give parasites a place to stay and lay eggs if they have them.
Yes but the substrate doesn't actually "absorb" it....The poop is still there whether there's substrate or not...
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:06 AM   #4 
Betta Bonnie
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mckinney Texas
bare bottom

I have bare bottoms and love them that way. I clean them every day with a turkey baster.
Betta Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:07 AM   #5 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betta Bonnie View Post
I have bare bottoms and love them that way. I clean them every day with a turkey baster.
Is reflection on the bottom of the tank an issue at all?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:07 AM   #6 
Kiara1125
Member
 
Kiara1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arcadia, FL
I use gravel to provide as a growing material for beneficial bacteria. I use gravel vacs whenever I change the water, so I suck up all the poop. I also like the substrate, because it provides as a stable place for roots with plants. Ilove to have my betta tanks planted, since my bettas love lounging around on the leaves and such. :)
Kiara1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:09 AM   #7 
Kiara1125
Member
 
Kiara1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arcadia, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnfinnfriend View Post
Is reflection on the bottom of the tank an issue at all?
The bottom shouldn't have a reflection. The betta should see right through to the stand it's on or whatever you use. It may appear reflective, because you're looking at it from the outside of the tank rather than the top. But, if the bottom is reflective, then that's a not so good betta tank, IMO.
Kiara1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:50 AM   #8 
Tikibirds
Member
 
Tikibirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warrensburg, NY
Is it needed...nope. I had some kritter keepers that were bare bottom because I would carry them over to the sink and just dump all the water out every week. It's doable with grave or sand but alot easier without it.

All my tanks have either sand or gravel though. Most are divided so I need something on the bottom to hold the divider in place and I just got some eco complete for plants so this weeend I am redoing the 20G with that and adding in live plants.

Sand is easier to see the poop because it lays on top of it, with gravel it can fall into the cracks so you dont see it but it is still there. you need to siphon to remove it
Tikibirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:55 AM   #9 
Kiara1125
Member
 
Kiara1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arcadia, FL
But you have to be careful with sand, because it can get really messy and fog up the tank pretty quickly if it's disturbed.
Kiara1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:59 AM   #10 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Kiara, gravel doesn't provide nearly as much surface area for bb to grow on as bio filter media that is designed for that purpose, so it is not nescessary.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best substrate for betta's xShainax Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 05-22-2012 09:13 PM
Betta Help Needed thedaan Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 4 10-07-2011 10:27 PM
Substrate for planted betta tank? vaygirl Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 11 01-18-2010 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.