Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2013, 09:57 AM   #11 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Still no movement....it's been 8 days
I'm going away next friday for 5 days...i may have to just give up and put my fish back.
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:25 PM   #12 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Ok, this is now getting ridiculous.

I changed out 25% water with the used water from my cycled tank along with a plastic plant from the cycled tank 2 days ago.

I STILL have 2ppm ammonia....
there has been no movement at all!! in 11 days!

I'm only waiting until tomorrow, if there is still no movement, i will be doing multiple water changes until it is 0, then i'm putting my fish back.

We leave next friday for 5 days.
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:38 AM   #13 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
So today: still NOTHING....2ppm ammonia.

I'm giving up and doing very large water changes to get it down as close to 0 as I can..and putting my fish back.

Don't know why it didn't work? My other tank (also 2.5) fully cycled in 2 weeks...but this one won't even eat any ammonia?

I'm really confused?
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:33 PM   #14 
waterdog
Member
 
waterdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Baton Rouge Louisiana
So am I. Never had this problem before. Did you try taking water from your cycled tank and putting it in your new tank?
waterdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:44 PM   #15 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Moving water from one tank to another is not effective - bacteria do not live in the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by slug61 View Post
So today: still NOTHING....2ppm ammonia.

I'm giving up and doing very large water changes to get it down as close to 0 as I can..and putting my fish back.

Don't know why it didn't work? My other tank (also 2.5) fully cycled in 2 weeks...but this one won't even eat any ammonia?

I'm really confused?
Your other tank cycled RIDICULOUSLY fast, so fast that I have to question whether it was actually cycled in the timeframe you think it was.

Generally when cycling with ammonia, it takes about a month. Takes around 2 weeks for the ammonia to go down, then another 1-2 weeks for the nitrite to go down.

Unfortunately, your previous experience has left you with some unrealistic expectations. It IS working - it's nature, it WILL work. You just have to be patient and wait for it, or, like hally said, just transfer some media from your already cycled tanks filter to the new tanks filter and be done with it. That's the preferred way to cycle new tanks.



Sent from Petguide.com App
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 03:05 PM   #16 
waterdog
Member
 
waterdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Baton Rouge Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysee View Post
Moving water from one tank to another is not effective - bacteria do not live in the water.
Sorry I have to disagree with you completely! I have been moving cycled tank water into new tanks for almost 10 years and it works every time! PERIOD!
waterdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:15 PM   #17 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Beneficial bacteria lives on biofilm, and biofilm forms on surfaces. The bacteria can use water for transportation i suppose, but it doesn't live in the water. I've got an empty tank and a bottle of ammonia... I'm anxious to review the results of the experiment.


Sent from Petguide.com App
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:19 PM   #18 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterdog View Post
So am I. Never had this problem before. Did you try taking water from your cycled tank and putting it in your new tank?
Yup...I did that...no change
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:21 PM   #19 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysee View Post
Moving water from one tank to another is not effective - bacteria do not live in the water.




Your other tank cycled RIDICULOUSLY fast, so fast that I have to question whether it was actually cycled in the timeframe you think it was.

Generally when cycling with ammonia, it takes about a month. Takes around 2 weeks for the ammonia to go down, then another 1-2 weeks for the nitrite to go down.

Unfortunately, your previous experience has left you with some unrealistic expectations. It IS working - it's nature, it WILL work. You just have to be patient and wait for it, or, like hally said, just transfer some media from your already cycled tanks filter to the new tanks filter and be done with it. That's the preferred way to cycle new tanks.



Sent from Petguide.com App
The other tank is still cycled constantly getting 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and 10ish nitrates.

We just got back from being away for 5 days... i had already put my fish back in his regular tank and gave up on fishless.

We go away again on the 13th of July for 8 days....a little worried about no water changes for that long...but, there's nothing i can do about it.
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:24 PM   #20 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by slug61 View Post
The other tank is still cycled constantly getting 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and 10ish nitrates.

We go away again on the 13th of July for 8 days....a little worried about no water changes for that long...but, there's nothing i can do about it.
Yes, there is something you can do about it. You can transfer some of the media in the cycled tanks filter to the new tanks filter. That will solve your problems.


Sent from Petguide.com App
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long did YOUR single betta cycle take? finnfinnfriend Betta Fish Care 7 03-30-2013 09:08 AM
how long cycle for 20gal altemar Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 03-11-2013 03:37 PM
How long would it take for this tank to cycle? LaLaLeyla Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 22 09-02-2011 12:56 PM
How long would it take to cycle? Ajones108 Betta Fish Care 9 07-29-2010 11:53 AM
How long does it take to cycle a tank? sunset Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 12-15-2009 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.