Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-19-2013, 04:34 PM   #1 
SaltAndLight

Smile I'm New to Fish Keeping! Hello!

Hi everyone! I started posting but no one knows who I am. I'm Delilah! I'm a mom (I'm 28), I'm a minister's wife and I am new to fish keeping. A few months ago my dad showed up with a surprise for my daughter (she's turning 4 in August) - a betta fish with a one gallon minibow and this garish rainbow gravel (my dad is color blind! lol) and statues of Nemo and Dori.
It took two days to deter my daughter from naming him Princess when she finally named him the only boy name she knew - Eugene (from Tangled. LOL, Not even his cool alias)
The fish was an ugly little thing, to say the least. A dark red and he kind of moped around. His fins were pathetic looking and he just didn't look like the fish I was seeing in my research online. I was actually being a real jerk and resented my dad a little for getting what I thought was the ugliest one.
I went to Petco and grabbed some salt and some bettaFix and the next day, the holes in his tattered fins were patching up and he was starting to be busy in his little tank. I also bought him a friend since it seemed lonely in the tank all alone - a gold mystery snail my daughter named Hiccup. Hiccup was also pretty beat up compared to online pics of Mystery Snails. The two of them recuperated together and they also became friends, so to speak. Eugene was following Hiccup around all over for the first few days.