Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2013, 05:19 PM   #1 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
If I had to move a planted tank could I lower the water level quickly, move, refill?

By winter or fall I may want to move all of my tanks downstairs. I cannot do it yet because the room needs work. Can I lower the water level to a few inches move the tanks and fill back up with the same water. It would take about 5-6 minutes to move each tank. I will have a 20 long and several 5 gallons and some help to do it. Would I destroy everything by doing that?
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:47 PM   #2 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team
 
lilnaugrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rhode Island
No that should be fine as long as it doesn't slosh around too much, everything should stay in tact. It won't kill the BB for being not wet for less than half an hour. Just throw the filter (if you've got one) into a bucket of water to keep wet, you can throw some of the plants in there too if you need while you move but it shouldn't be too bad if you're just going right downstairs.
lilnaugrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:11 PM   #3 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
The tank might snap from the weight.
Posted via Mobile Device
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:14 PM   #4 
shellieca
Reference Team
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
I'm with Olympia, I'd be concerned about it cracking from the weight not being evenly distributed during the move. That's a lot of weight to move around.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:53 PM   #5 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
What if I put a board underneath it?
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:00 PM   #6 
jentralala
Reference Team
 
jentralala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Florida
I've heard of people using plywood to move tanks with substrate still in them, but I've never done it personally.

Don't leave any water in the tank if you're gonna do it though, drain it as much as possible and just cover the plants with cling wrap to keep some moisture in.

If there are fish just put them into buckets, along with the media.

Trust me though, a 20 gallon with just substrate is INSANELY heavy. I drained mine completely of water when I had to move it in a rush (long story, the room flooded basically and I had to take all the furniture out.) and it took 2 people and a lot of swearing to move it to another room. It didn't crack or snap thank god, but I think I just got lucky.
jentralala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:06 PM   #7 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
I am glad you could rescue everyone! Maybe I will just leave the sorrority upstairs and take everyone else downstairs. The 5 gallons probably won't be heavily planted like the sorrority tank would be.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 10:16 PM   #8 
Sweetea
Member
 
Sweetea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Quincy, MA
It would still be a good idea to drain the 5gal tanks a bit...gotta watch for back safety also since those are rather heavy too.
Sweetea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 10:49 PM   #9 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
Yes I'd definitely would drain them. No worries I have someone to do all that for me. That's what good friends are for. However, I'd be cooking a very nice meal.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:21 AM   #10 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team
 
lilnaugrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Oh right, I always forget that the bottoms can fall out, Sorry!! I'll keep that in mind next time I try to give advice! lol

I do hope it works well, with moving any tanks you've got!
lilnaugrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you move tank water, filter and all decor to new tank will the BB survive? jadaBlu Betta Fish Care 3 04-17-2013 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.