Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2013, 12:56 AM   #1 
discordthebetta
New Member
 
discordthebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
First filter - just want to make sure I'm doing this right!

Hi everyone!

I've been using this site as a resource for a little while now and I'm a huge fan of my betta so I figured it was about time I joined. :)

So I just bought my betta a brand new, much bigger tank (3 gallons) as well as a filter. It's the first time I've had a filter in his tank, and I've put it on the lowest setting since I've read that it can stress them out if it's too high.

I'm a little concerned because when he gets too close to it, it seems like the water current might be pushing him a little! Is this normal? Will he get used to it or will it stress him out? I'm new to this and I just want to make sure he'll be okay!

Do bettas need some time to adapt to new surroundings? He's been doing a ton of swimming around his new tank (hopefully a good thing.) What can I do to make sure the transition is easy for him?
discordthebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:31 AM   #2 
Tikibirds
Member
 
Tikibirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warrensburg, NY
Wha type of filter is it? I find for smaller tanks, sponge filters work best as you can get an attachment that will allow you to set the airflow to any rate you need. Howevr for some of the other kinds you can baffle them. You can also put objects in the way of the current. I use oversized plants and one of the zoo med plastic plants that comes with a suction cup, so I stick it right next to the filter so the plant is in the way of the current (works if the filter is in the corner) http://www.petmountain.com/show_product/11442-525574
Tikibirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:58 AM   #3 
BeansJDS
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Thanks for asking this. I have a 3G tank too. We had a power outage and filter was off, it's on now but I think I better do a water change right? Last water change was 100% 6 days ago. I have a whisper 3i filter and put nylons over the intake because my delta was getting its tail in there, poor guy. Help or advise, water change a good idea right at 50% or 100%?
BeansJDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:01 AM   #4 
BeansJDS
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Oh, filter was off for 24 hours. Sorry meant to say that.
BeansJDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:09 AM   #5 
Tikibirds
Member
 
Tikibirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warrensburg, NY
A water change would be a good idea. If there was any bacteria in the filter media and it dried up, the bacteria would of died of and I am told that can lead to an ammonia spike. I think for anything under a 5 gallon, you are still supposed to be doing a 100% water change - even with a filter. Somewhere on here there is a sticky with info on how many and how much to change the water. I think its in the "cycling a tank for bettas" thread by OldFishLady
Tikibirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:04 AM   #6 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Beans: Sorry to say the Tetra 3I is a poorly designed filter. It only flows water over the top part of the cartridge. A good filter flows water through the entire cartridge/sponge/media. The 3i doesn't filter at all.

Your tank is not cycled and, for the benefit of your fish, it should be, in my opinion. Read the stickies on cycling.

It's not hard, but you'll need a real filter. I agree with Tiki; a sponge filter works great in a small tank. These are top of the line sponge filters: Aquarium Sponge Filter; ATI Bio Filters and Replacement Hydro Sponges. I use the mini in my cycled 3gal tanks and like them a lot. Thee are cheaper ones on Amazon.

The (Tetra) airpump you have is fine for any sponge filter you'd use in a 3g.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:07 AM   #7 
BeansJDS
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Okay thanks. I'll change the water tonight. Anything special to do with the filter after a 100% water change? I do not rinse the filter media with tap water, just shake it out in the old tank water right? And then put it back in the pump and start the pump in the new water?
BeansJDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:15 AM   #8 
BeansJDS
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Oh, okay. This is good to know, thanks so much to you both. I'll buy the sponge filters. I have one air stone but didn't think it was doing anything so I went to the filter.

Question: What size sponge filter and how often to replace? Thanks so much for the link, I'll buy them just let me know what size you think is best and how many to buy at a time.

Question2: I can just plug the sponge filter into my Tetra air pump then?

Question3: Once I do this, I still should clean my tank 50% wait 3-4 days, 100% wait 3-4 days, 50% wait 3-4 days, etc?
BeansJDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:17 AM   #9 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Get the Hydro Mini. You can get one on Amazon. The nice thing about Hydro is you can use an airstone in the filter. This makes more smaller bubbles for more flow through the filter. Do not relace the sponge until it's literally falling apart. That's where the nitrifying bacteria live.

You need one per tank. Just plug it into your pump. But you can run more than one with just one air-pump. You might want a check-valve to prevent back-siphoning if the power goes out. Or do what I do: mount the pump above the waterline by hanging it on the wall.

Read this: http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/b...ations-115758/

And, if you decide to cycle your tank (which I highly recommend), read this

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/b...ecific-107771/

Last edited by Hallyx; 06-26-2013 at 09:30 AM.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 06:50 PM   #10 
BeansJDS
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Okay, got a sponge filter and looks great but the lift tube is higher than the waterline is that okay? Or maybe I shouldn't use the lift tube?
BeansJDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make-shift Sponge Filter cdouglas93 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 06-03-2013 08:56 AM
How to make a baffle for this filter? kelikani Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 6 03-30-2013 01:25 PM
how to make a sponge filter? kngiraffe Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 03-01-2013 02:27 PM
Tutorial make your own sponge filter! 920fish Breeding Betta Fish 4 11-07-2011 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.