Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-18-2009, 09:52 AM   #1 
daquilajmd

a male and two females

I'm new to betta fish. I have a beautiful male blue crowntail and two cute females, one pink (Rosie) and one bluish/purple (Violet). His name is Little Blue. They are in a 5 gal tank with filter and heater and I keep the water conditioned and check with pH test strips, etc. They are getting along pretty well. The male flares and bullys but he has not attacked -- I've had them together a month. One of the females won't take any crap from him -- lol! but little Rosie is more careful and hides in her cave. I've read you aren't supposed to put them together like this (for sure the boys) but they are seemingly healthy and swimming and eating. Rosie, I think, may be full of eggs, but Little Blue has not started a bubble nest. Will he eventually do so or will she just have to expell the eggs herself or what?
daquilajmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 09:57 AM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

Males and females really shouldn't be housed together. I'm surprised that they are getting along so well. I would think that the female will eventually release her eggs whether he builds a nest or not. Are you planning on raising any fry that may result?
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 03:48 PM   #3 
daquilajmd

Well, I thought I replied but I did something wrong apparently and now I can't find the reply I thought I sent. I'm new to this so don't know what I'm doing yet.