Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-22-2009, 01:13 AM   #1 
piperandremy

Question 2 Gallon Tank, Heater Needed? + Other Question...

I have about a two gallon tank, maybe more or less, for my two Betta's.

- Right now their tank temperature is at about... 69 degrees? Which I believe is too cold. I purchased a mini-heater, which I think I'll use... but I'd like another opinion. Should I use the heater? Especially if I'm planning on moving their tank back to my room, where it's a tad colder than my dining room where they are now..
- Also, they haven't been eating much. I'll put in their pellets, or flakes, and they never seem to eat anything! I've had them for about a week, and they swim around and whatnot, but never eat... Grr!
- Any other tips? Recommendations? I'm totally new to the betta world, so any help I can get would be great.

Thanks! :)
piperandremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 01:18 AM   #2 
FordMan

yeah deff use the heater set the temp to 76F when fish are cold they eat less because their metabolism is slowed it's how coi hibernate in frozen ponds or snakes in the winter .. same principle
FordMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 01:25 AM   #3 
aunt kymmie
Gold Member

Welcome to the forum, piperandremy!
I maintain a temp of 79/80 in both my betta tanks. Everything I've ever read states that bettas do best at a minimum temp of 78. Are you keeping two bettas in a 2gl?
aunt kymmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 01:43 AM   #4 
piperandremy

thanks! and yes, two females in a two gallon tank. maybe a little bigger.
Old 02-22-2009, 02:38 AM   #5 
Cody

In one tank? I would get them seperated ASAP.

I have personally kept every one of my bettas at 84F. They seem to do best there.
Cody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:29 AM   #6 
dramaqueen
Banned

I agree with Cody. They should be separated.