Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-22-2009, 04:31 PM   #1 
AJp34

Question Betta and Platy tank mates.... Doesnt seem to be working for me.

I first off wanted to start by saying I am very new to this hobby and have found that this forum is by far the best one I have found. I have one male betta and one platy. They have been togethor for nearly twenty four hours and they seem to be alright togethor (at times).

However, when I checked on them earlier today, I found that the platy has a nice little U-shaped chunk missing from his tail. The only suspect being the betta (since there are no other tank mates). The guy at the fish store told me that they would work well togethor.

I'm not sure what I should do to solve this problem. I dont know if getting a second platy woud solve the problem, however, my tank may not be big enough for that.

I can watch them as the betta slow harasses and stalks the platy. Any ideas would be much appreciated.
AJp34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 04:53 PM   #2 
KILO

first off what size is your tank and i may be wrong but betta's typically need to be alone or they will try and kill everything but maybe a larger tank. but get a second opinion
KILO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 04:57 PM   #3 
willow

hello and welcome.
personally i would only keep the betta on his own,
he won't hate you for it,he'll enjoy the tank to himself.
as already asked what size tank are they in.
willow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:17 PM   #4 
AJp34