Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-28-2013, 04:03 PM   #1 
bettadad71

Sticky Fin.

Hi! I'm new to the Betta fish world. I never thought I would become so addicted to keeping my Betta healthy. Truth is, it was an Easter present for my daughter. But has become an addictive hobby for me. He started out in a half gallon tank, and has been upgraded to a 5 gallon tank with heater and filter. Within the last month has has developed fin clamping or sticky fin. I have tried several methods like, more frequent water changes, a water bubbler for better oxygen, and I have been administering "Betta Fix" for the last 7 days, up until yesterday. Today I have done another complete water change. I have seen a lot of improvement over the last week. Prince has started to loosen his fins. But in the last 3 days I have not seen any more improvement. His fins are about halfway open. But it seems that they are not opening 100%. He has also lost color and has developed a small hole in his Dorsal fin. He seems more active recently and has never lost his appetite. I have read a lot of conflicting advice as to how to do water changes. Some say never do a 100% water change. While others say to do a complete water change once a month, with a weekly 50 to 30% change. I also heard that I should not rinse the gravel with tap water, while other say you should. I have been rinsing the gravel when I do a complete water change. Am I over doing it? How can I get my Betta back to good health? Thanks!
bettadad71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 06:14 PM   #2 
shellieca
Reference Team