Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-03-2013, 12:42 PM   #1 
Patriot17

My new betta Tim.

Hello everyone!

I am somewhat new to keeping bettas but I have had one for about 3 months now. Anyways, at my local fish store they had two of these bettas kept together, as far as I could tell they were both males. I knew that is a big no no so I decided to purchase one. I named him Tim because he is so small and sickly. I am pretty sure that he has a fungal infection as well as ich. So far all I have done is frequent water changes as well as keeping the water around 80 degrees. So my question to you all is what steps should i take next to get this little guy to prime shape. Hes so active and very happy but I know he is sick. At night he will flash against the plants in his tank. His fins were also in really bad shape when I got him but they seem to be on a rapid come back. I feed tim new life spectrum betta formula pellets and frozen/freeze dried blood worms. He has an enormous appetite and quickly gobbles down everything I put in there. Right now I am keeping him in a 2 gallon spec but I will be getting a five gallon tank for him soon. Here are some pictures of Tim.

In one of the pics you can see white spots on his fin.
Attached Images

Patriot17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:48 PM   #2 
Melodica

Aww, he's so cute! He's definitely lucky that you came along.

I'm not the best one for advice on treating illness, but I think I remember seeing that a raised temperature can help with ich. You'll probably need medications (or at the very least aquarium salt) to treat a fungal infection. If you search these forums you can probably find tons of great advice on diagnosis and treatment of various illnesses.
Melodica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:57 PM   #3 
Patriot17