Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-23-2009, 11:28 AM   #1 
berice17

5 Gallon tank mates

Well im pretty new to the whole betta fish thing...i was at a pet store the other day and randomly decided to get a betta fish because i had a fish bowl at home...then a day later i decided the bowl was to small and bought a 5 gallon tank package with a filter and heater...really im just wondering what would be good fish to put in a 5 gallon tank with him...if any fish at all...i know a 5 gallon tank isnt that big but it seems big enough to me where i could have 1 or 2 more fish?....also would a air pump and bubbler be ok in this setup?....i always read that betta fish dont need them but i saw a cool bubbler decoration that i liked and was just wondering..... thanks for all the help...let me know what you think
berice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 11:58 AM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

Personally, I wouldn't put any tankmates in with my betta. They are solitary fish and do fine by themselves.But you could try a few ghost shrimp. I think they are only something like 40-50 cents a piece so if your betta decides to make a snack out of them then you're not out of a whole lot of money. Other people here can give you some other, maybe better ideas. You can use a bubbler if you want to but it really isn't necessary.Hope this helps and welcome to FishForum.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 12:20 PM   #3 
berice17

hey thanks...how big are ghost shrimp?? if my betta fish could eat them they must be kinda small i would thing....and if i got some of those would i have to feed them somthing different?
Old 03-23-2009, 12:25 PM   #4 
dramaqueen
Banned