Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2014, 01:02 PM   #1 
megz357
New Member
 
megz357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
When to Add Water Conditioner?

So I'm getting ready to do my first water change on my Betta's 5.5 gallon tank. It's been just under a week, he's in there with two ADF's, and the ammonia level measures 0.25ppm so I figured I'd do about a 50% water change? Once I'm ready to add new water to the tank, should I add the conditioner only to the water that I am adding and for the amount I'm adding? Or should I just add the water and add the amount of conditioner required for the full size of the tank?
megz357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:25 PM   #2 
VivianKJean
Member
 
VivianKJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC
add the water conditioner to the new water you are adding and add enough water conditioner to dose the whole tank.
VivianKJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:29 PM   #3 
megz357
New Member
 
megz357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Thank you! :)
megz357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 06:48 PM   #4 
Boshia
New Member
 
Boshia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by VivianKJean View Post
add the water conditioner to the new water you are adding and add enough water conditioner to dose the whole tank.
Please forgive me, I just got my betta two days ago, but wouldn't adding enough water conditioner to dose the whole tank on a wc be overdosing? Because there's already conditioner in the water that is left in the tank? Or is it OK?
Boshia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:19 PM   #5 
VivianKJean
Member
 
VivianKJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC
no, it would not overdoes him. Most water conditioners says that you can safely dose up to 5x the recommended about.
VivianKJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 08:07 PM   #6 
Boshia
New Member
 
Boshia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Oh, ok! Thanks!
Boshia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:05 PM   #7 
MameJenny
Member
 
MameJenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
I usually just add the amount for the water I'm changing. I add it to the water before it goes in the tank, of course. So, for example, if I'm changing 5g of water in my 20g, I'll only add enough for 5 gallons. The only time I dose the whole tank is when I'm using an ammonia reducing conditioner, like Prime.
MameJenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:10 PM   #8 
VivianKJean
Member
 
VivianKJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC
I only use Prime as a water conditioner so thats why i dose it for the whole tank (even though my tanks are cycled so ammonia isn't an issues....)
VivianKJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When Im doing a 25% or 50% water change do I have to add water conditioner again? yogosans14 Betta Fish Care 17 08-04-2014 12:39 AM
water conditioner vs betta water conditioner zinfandoll Betta Fish Care 18 09-04-2011 02:40 PM
Is it ok to not add water conditioner? TinaMaxis Betta Fish Care 16 08-08-2011 09:21 PM
whats the difference between betta conditioner and water conditioner? FishyFriend1 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 01-16-2011 01:18 PM
Does water conditioner INSTANTLY dechlorinates tap water? Dead Sunlight Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 07-16-2010 11:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.