Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-27-2009, 07:37 PM   #1 
jdn2000ca

Question Betta not eating, lazy and lying at bottom. What is wrong?

Hi Folks,
Wondering if any one can help. My 5 year old daughter got a small Betta for Xmas from grandma. All has been going well for all this time. Noticed 2 weeks ago that her Betta was not active or eating. Her Betta is know laying at the bottom of the aquarium with gills activity. Not sure if she or he is suffering from something. Once and a while the betta will swim up to the top as if needing to breathe from the surface and then goes back down to lay there at the bottom. Also noticed that around the edge of the gills on the inside there seems to be something black that moves with the activity of the gills both sides. I am new at this but not sure if this is normal for the Betta. The aquarium is a half gallon, but the betta is small, so i think that there is sufficient space compared to some of the pictures i have seen on the site. Yes i understand that the aquarium should be bigger but right now till he or she goes better i do not want to change what this little betta is used to. As for PH it is at 7.4. Water is betta conditioner treated. There are no filters just a light on top to keep some heat Tempuarture is at 22degrees celcius or about 70 to 72 f. Yes i do also understand that the temperature is to low. But i will in canada and all winter i did not have a problems. This little betta was active even in this temperature. Food we feed flake betta food. There is only one small plastic plant in the aquarium and a rock bottom. I also change the half the water every week.
Other than this behavour i have not notice anything else. Is there something that i should look for. I have gone through the diseases list and have found nothing that resembles type of behavior or any visual symptoms.