Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2009, 11:48 PM   #1 
shroomer
New Member
 
shroomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Barrie/Toronto, On
Skyes New Home

so ive got my new 10 gallon tank set up and i thought u wonderful people might liek to see it i no veganchick does so here it is.

















i think i am going to cycle his tank, for a week before i put him in there so that is why the tank is empty.
shroomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:23 AM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I think it will take longer than a week for it to cycle. Make sure you have a test kit. An API master test kit.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:44 PM   #3 
fishyinpa
Member
 
fishyinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South NJ
Looks good! Add a cave for him as well. A 10 gallon is fairly easy to cycle,but takes quite longer than a week to do so. It took my tank 8 weeks to cycle.
fishyinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 01:00 AM   #4 
shroomer
New Member
 
shroomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Barrie/Toronto, On
i desided im going to just do a fish in cycle, it will eventually work out, i have been looking for some cool decoration he can use as a hiding place, but i am unemployed right now, but i will hopefully have a job soon
shroomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 08:09 AM   #5 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
If you cycle with the fish in the tank, be sure to monitor your water parameters since ammonia is toxic to fish. It can be done but you just have to be careful.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 12:58 PM   #6 
fishyinpa
Member
 
fishyinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South NJ
Yes it can be done. I did it with Fishy. BUT you will have to go buy API master test kit. Its about 30 bucks. Its the only way to know whats going on with it. The strips are inaccurate. So before you even think about cycling,get a kit as soon as you can. Otherwise since its a big tank,you can get away with like 25% water changes twice a week.

If you cant afford to get a test kit right now,just keep up with the water changes till you can get one.
fishyinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 04:17 PM   #7 
shroomer
New Member
 
shroomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Barrie/Toronto, On
hey i just got a job, right now i only have an ammonia test kit, not strips, it came with a test tube, and 2 dropper bottles, since i am now employed i will probably pic up the master test kit, but we shall see.
shroomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 06:23 PM   #8 
fishyinpa
Member
 
fishyinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South NJ
Oh cool! Congrats! Well for now ammonia is a good starter test. Thats what will come first in cycling. it takes awhile before you get any nitrites,so you have some time but dont take too long lol. You are better off just getting the master test kit,rather than buying each individual test. Once you start this,ANYTHING over .25 for ammonia is bad for your fish. You WILL end having to do water changes everyday for awhile,because they will get crazy high. Definetly not a good thing to leave it go,as your fish will suffer. So good luck with your new job and your new fish!
fishyinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 06:42 PM   #9 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
Another thing I just learned about cycling is to feed your fish sparingly during cycling. The less fish waste you have, the less ammonia you have to deal with.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:06 PM   #10 
fishyinpa
Member
 
fishyinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South NJ
Yup! If your ammonia tests over .5 dont feed at all until its below that. They will be fine without food.
fishyinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new home cindylou Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 11-27-2009 07:05 AM
Bo and his new home chillylounge Betta Pictures 7 08-31-2009 10:21 AM
A new home!!!:D Miss Em Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 14 08-09-2009 12:48 PM
new home for B! photochic88 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 08-03-2009 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.