Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-16-2013, 07:03 PM   #1 
Whesandra

Exclamation I need to rescue a betta--which tank and filter?

Hello, all, I'd appreciate some advice. Today I found out about a male betta at a nursing home living in a one-gallon tank with no heater, no filter, and whose water gets changed about once monthly. I think he's got some ammonia burns under his chin, but other than that, he seems fairly active and healthy. (But I'm no expert, that's for sure!)

I know this isn't a good situation for a betta to be in, so I want to rescue the poor guy and bring him home. But I have no tank and no filter. So I'm wondering if any of you have recommendations for a tank and filter I should buy? Maybe a combo set? I don't want to just go to Walmart and grab whatever's on their shelf, because I have a feeling they won't sell high-quality equipment, and I don't want to subject this poor betta to less-than-optimal conditions. And I certainly don't want to have to change his water every day, so I really want a filtered tank!

I won't get less than a 1.5-gallon tank, but I'm thinking maybe I'd prefer a 3-gallon tank (or even a 5-gallon tank, so I could put another fish in later?). Ideally, I'd like to spend about $50 on the tank-filter setup, but I'm willing to go up to about $100. Is that reasonable?

Thanks for your input, and let me know if you need more info!
Whesandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:18 PM   #2 
VJM

I would get a 10 gallon at Petsmart during the dollar a gallon sale. Get a Marineland filter, and a Hydor Theo heater. You might be over 50, but not by too much
VJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:22 PM   #3 
Lamb

Petco is having the dollar a gallon sale right now!