Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2009, 11:59 AM   #1 
devilduck
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Using filter medium from goldfish tank to start cycle

Hi, I'm looking into getting a betta fish for a 1 gallon tank, and basically I want to know if I can take some of the sponge from the current filter and use it in a new filter to kick-start the cycle so I'm not starting from 0 bacteria.

I've had fancy goldfish for a few months now so their tank and filter is well cycled and established, but being very messy coldwater fish I don't know if I can use anything from their tank.

I am intending to get a heater as my room gets cold sometimes, and if I can't use the filter medium I might skip cycling and not bother with a filter, as from reading other threads this does not seem to be a problem and would help keep setup costs down.

Thanks :)
devilduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 12:05 PM   #2 
Chicklet
Member
 
Chicklet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
In that small of a tank its to unstable,
Just do frequent water changes,
that's the best way to go in small tanks in my opinion
Chicklet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 02:00 PM   #3 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I agree with Chicklet.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 04:29 PM   #4 
devilduck
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Ok, I shall do that then :) How long would i need to leave the tank to settle before getting a fish?
devilduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:52 PM   #5 
Chicklet
Member
 
Chicklet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
just rinse the tank and everything real good, Add the water and the conditioner,
Then add the Betta,

If you can mix the water and let it set at least an hours before thats better,

Thats how I did it for many of mine...never had any troubles
Chicklet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.