Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-14-2009, 01:00 PM   #1 
stlovefamily

Feeling like a bad mommy to my fish

So I'm fairly new to bettas, this is my second. My first lived 4 years so I guess I did something right. I have a 2.5 gallon critter tank, no filter, no light, I use spring water in his tank, and have only 1 plant w. gravel.

I was looking at the set up thread and really felt bad. I want a happy fish so what do you suggest for a change.

I really don't have room for anything larger than 5 gallons and prefer to keep my 2.5 gallon if possible since i would rather not filter. I keep reading that he needs at lest 3 gallons though. I'm off to PetSmart tonight to hook him up, but need to know what you think I should get?

On my list is...

1. Thermometer
2. 1 more plant
3. A cave decor

I seen soome pics with a PH sticker on the side of the tank. Do I need one?

Help me out
stlovefamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 01:42 PM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

A 2.5 gallon is just fine for a betta. A filter is nice to have but not necessary. It helps to keep the water cleaner. I don't have filters in my 1 gallon tanks or my 4 gallon tank and my fish do just fine. You do have to changer water more frequently, though. A thermometer is good to keep track of the temp, a plant will be nice, preferrably a silk one and a cave to hide in would be good, too. I have no idea what a ph sticker is.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 04:43 PM   #3 
Nataku

You don't need to constantly monitor pH on a betta, they are fairly hardy in regards to pH, and you are probably best off not trying to change the pH, as that can often cause more harm than good.