Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Pictures
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-14-2009, 05:32 PM   #1 
TianTian

Smile "The Epic Tale of Tian-Tian the Betta"... we're new.

Hello, everyone! My name is Eva; I'm a first-time Betta owner/college student and I have a veil tail Betta named Tian-Tian.

Here's a link to a YouTube video of him... I start coddling him like a puppy and he reacts. Funny fish! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8pCtR2Ei7c (I've given him a 100% water change today and moved a lot of his plants around, so he's not so hidden as he is in this video... as seen below. The lighting in the video is not that great; he's actually much more colorful in person.)

--
I bought him back in early March. He has a bit of a story... ( Warning: long post ahead....)

I had been living in the dorms alone for a few months (my roommate had to drop the semester). I felt that I needed someone, or something to keep me company (I'm a pretty social person). I literally woke up one early Monday morning and said, "I'm buying a Betta fish today."

I spent nearly that whole day researching everything I could about how to keep Bettas. My friends made fun of me for this, telling me that it was "just a fish" and not some huge commitment. I've grown up around animals and I knew that if one took a pet lightly, even "just a fish", things would eventually lead to disaster and/or heartbreak.