Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-23-2013, 05:17 AM   #1 
deon9726

Betta questions!

Hey everyone i am new in the fish world and bought a betta with no experience with fish the person sold it to me in a little container and sold me a 2.50 dollar aquarium that was as big as a little cup i really didn't know better but i did extensive research and bought him alot of stuff i had my last 100 dollars and did my best i bought him a 5.5 gallon tank with a heater gravel and plants. The aquarium came with a filter and a light. He seems very happy i can really see the improvement in his behavior from when he was in the little cup. I set up the aquarium put some water conditioner in it and some anti fungal medicine but he was already healed when i put him in basically. The problem is now i did not cycle the aquarium because i did not know better now i feel pretty bad and i am kind of scared for my male betta. He has been in the tank for about 3 weeks and seems fine and when i put him in the tank i put a little of the water i had in the previous bowl. is there any pre cautions i should be taking or anything. I have just purchased some api aquarium salt and stress coat and some silk plants because the plants i have currently are plastic. i also bought him a battery powered gravel vacuum off of ebay for 8 dollars with a sponge bob pineapple house aquarium ornament hopefully he will like it and sleep in it. And last but not least i bought him a seachem alert combo pack which has this ammonia and ph detectors so i don't have to do the common strip tests and all of that. and i do have one more question should i buy filters for my tank i heard its a good idea to leave it until it falls apart. Well anyways i have been doing a 25 percent water change once every week. The water is looking kind of cloudy in there so i am not sure what that is. There is