Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2013, 01:40 PM   #1 
sixcards
Member
 
sixcards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: wisconsin
Sponge filter???

Okay, I know what a sponge filter is, but not understanding how it works better than a power filter. How are you controlling the ammonia?? I like that concept but just worried about stagnant water. Do I add bubbler bars or rain bars?
I'm setting up a divided 20gallon long. I'm using plexi glass that I'm drilling holes in, but I'm alternating sides that I'm drilling to create movement (like an s pattern).
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm posting a picture of a tank with dividers but it is NOT my tank but my tank will look like this except I used blue plexi glass.
sixcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:04 PM   #2 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
You are giving the bacteria a home a place to grow to reproduce. I have stock tanks that are 100's of gal with only air driven sponge filter. in any set up you must move water

Rick

Last edited by rickey; 07-26-2013 at 02:07 PM.
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:15 PM   #3 
sixcards
Member
 
sixcards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: wisconsin
Sorry forgot to post picture. So what do I use to move water?
Attached Images
 
sixcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:40 PM   #4 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
This setup. You have to pick water up on one end and discharge on the opposite end. That are better designs out there

Rick
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:49 PM   #5 
Flyby Stardancer
Member
 
Flyby Stardancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Yeah, for this setup you probably should use some kind of canister or sump set up so that you can take water from one end of the tank, run it through the filter, and have it flow back into the tank at the other end.
Flyby Stardancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:54 PM   #6 
sixcards
Member
 
sixcards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: wisconsin
So in order for me to have a divided tank I should use a canister??
sixcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 03:32 PM   #7 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixcards View Post
So in order for me to have a divided tank I should use a canister??
Not what we are saying but a CAN is one way to move water, This

Rick

Last edited by rickey; 07-26-2013 at 03:52 PM.
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 03:40 PM   #8 
ANHEL123
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Just one advice quarantine each new fish in case it sick . You don't want to end up with all of them being sick. Sometimes the symptoms can develop later on with new bettas:)
ANHEL123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 04:15 PM   #9 
sixcards
Member
 
sixcards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: wisconsin
Thanks guys!! I think I'll end up doing the canister, it seems easier at the moment.
sixcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aqueon 2.5 filter or sponge filter? bankruptjojo Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 03-06-2012 05:27 PM
Converting a normal filter into a sponge filter? Bambi Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 10-29-2011 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.