Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-20-2009, 02:15 AM   #1 
NinjaBettasKeeper

Question 'Challenging' Food

Firstly, I am new to Bettas, and to be honest, I never expected to own fish. I originally 'rescued' a typical half-dead male betta from a wal-mart to take to school as a class pet to have for our two month long science unit on fish (which requires observing fish, caring for fish, etc..) I didn't want to buy anything fancy (or expensive) because I knew I was taking it into a room full of 35 five year olds. The science teacher convinced me to do this. I didn't want a 'commitment' but she convinced me that I could always send the fish home with a willing family, and after securing said willing family I purchased Flick.

Flick now lives happily in my classroom (well, as happily as any fish can be after a child has read it 'Rainbow Fish' for the millionth time--it's kind of funny actually, because Flick flares at the foil scales on some of the pages and the kids think he's responding to the story itself) in a 1.5 gallon tank (small, I know, but the room is really cramped and a full blown tank is out of the question, we are religious about his water changes and remove organic waste with a turkey baster in between changes to help keep his environment clean) and eats a rotation of three kinds of food (for variety). But enough about Flick since he's not the subject of the question.

The point is that I feel in love with Flick, but knew I had to give him up at the end of the science unit (I made a promise after all). So I eventually went out and purchased one for myself. This time from Petco (along with a large filtered-heated-happy-betta-home). He's a different breed--delta tail? Or something to that effect--and his personality is way different.