Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-29-2013, 08:02 AM   #1 
Henrythefish

Talking A hello from the UK!

Hello betta peeps!

I am new to fish keeping and have got a 28 litre tank for my daughter after she fell in love with some fish at Pets at Home...dont despair I wouldnt really look at getting them from there, would rather keep good local shops going.

My daughter is 3 and we were told a betta would be good for her as they are quite interactive and fun...How do they interact?

My husband on the other hand wants some little endlers livebearers as they are more active and he tank would be more lively...

We were told by our LFS that one male betta with a few endlers would be fine as they are small and would be under the one per inch rule...

however i am reading mixed messages about the two together...also do they require very different care? From what i have gathered online from care sheets they seem pretty similar in food and temp and water parameters....

Am I right or am i going drastically wrong heading for a catastrophe...

I havent bought any fish yet still cycling my tank....but wanted to make sure....i will be making sure that "henry" as my daughter has decided to call him will have plant cover for peace and quite (again do they prefer silk plants or are normal fake plants ok??)

Thanks for any help you can give...she has decided already she wants a purple veil tail.....

Thanks everyone x
Henrythefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:35 AM   #2 
NorthernLights

Hi, and welcome to the forums!

To answer your question, some bettas cannot live with any kind of tankmates. I'd avoid the Endler's Livebearers in any event. If you are new to Bettas, you may want to go with just the betta for a while, as there is a learning curve no matter how much research you do.