Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-29-2013, 11:21 PM   #1 
Larthan

Hello there, new Betta mom here!

Hiya. I managed to find this forum while searching for pictures of different tail types and colors to show my SO, since he's a bit jealous about me getting to keep our new addition to the family on my desk to myself!

I'm a 25 year old artist and web admin, but I'm sure you guys would rather meet Sputnik, my new little red/metallic crowntail boy. He is my first betta.

Our roomates moved in with their halfmoon boy who's about two or three years old, and I couldn't help myself, and started planning for one of my own. I got a three gallon tank with filter, lights and small bubbler (filter is gentle and doesn't create a strong current), a couple of hides and a nice broadleaf plant that reaches the top of the tank and stretches across to give him something to lay on when he wants to...

Then, I purchased this fellow:

(picture right after he was released from his container after a few hours of floating it in the tank)

His tank:

Showing off (scaring that strange fish in the mirror away from his tank):

And flaring at mom:

He's got a really pretty gold-to-silver coloration under his red, the gold on his head and turning silver down his sides and on his fins.

Yes. I made a mistake, and got him from Petsmart. I saw him and fell in love. He wasn't one of the veiltails (I knew I didn't want one of those, but that's all I expected), and was the only fella who even gave me the light of day when I took a look at him. He wasn't flaring at everyone, but he was very attentive, and came up to the edge of the cup making faces at me. I couldn't resist.

So! Here we are! :)
Larthan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 01:07 AM   #2 
txbettaowner

He is amazing. Great job on the tank. Only question I have is: Does his tank have a heater?