Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2009, 11:54 PM   #1 
AngelicScars
Member
 
AngelicScars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SC
Filters

We got a 5 gallon tank kit. It had everything that we needed in it. The only problem is the filter is too strong for him. I've read on here about rigging my current filter, but I don't know if I want to try that.

I was wondering what would be the best filter for my 5 gallon tank? Would this be okay?
http://www.aquariumguys.com/whisperpower4.html

My Betta is the only being in the tank btw.
AngelicScars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:11 PM   #2 
AngelicScars
Member
 
AngelicScars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SC
So no one can give me any suggestions or advice?
AngelicScars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:18 PM   #3 
froglady
Member
 
froglady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Ive heard people on here mention the red sea filter its a mild water movement filter. with adjustable water flow. would that outside filter fit on your tank?
froglady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:03 PM   #4 
AngelicScars
Member
 
AngelicScars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SC
I just looked around for a Red Sea filter and it seems like the biggest they have is for a 3 gallon tank. Is that the one that you are talking about?

Would a filter for a 3 gallon be okay in a 5 gallon tank?
AngelicScars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:38 PM   #5 
froglady
Member
 
froglady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
well Im not sure. you might have to do more water changes. but it probably would be a mild water current.
froglady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:44 PM   #6 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
You don't want a whole lot of current for a betta.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:47 PM   #7 
froglady
Member
 
froglady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
So true dramaqueen, mine is in a five gallon, with its internal filter. and the betta seem to be able to rest. without much current.
froglady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:53 PM   #8 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I don't have filters in mine and I don't know anything about them except that bettas do best if the flow is turned down.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:58 PM   #9 
froglady
Member
 
froglady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
dramaqueen is right.
froglady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 12:56 AM   #10 
AngelicScars
Member
 
AngelicScars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SC
Yeah, that's what I'm looking for, a low flow filter. I just thought someone here would give me a suggestion for a particular brand. Perhaps post a link to a filter you use and that works great for your Betta. :)
AngelicScars is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filters and you Grant83 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 10-14-2009 04:39 PM
Filters...? Haeclark Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 8 03-28-2009 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.