Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-01-2013, 06:19 PM   #1 
JustMe74

How many babies are left after 8 weeks?

So I'm maybe planning on breeding betta's
I have some experience with them and other aquarium fish but never bred a fish except a guppy I accidentally bought pregnant but yeah, that doesn't really count

One of the deciding factors on whether or not I'm gonna breed betta's is the ammount of fry, okay, lots of eggs, not all will hatch, fry will die, but how many are left after 8 weeks? So at the time you have to seperate the males
I'll use plastic storage boxes divided into 6-8 parts (I'll see how big one of those is, it'll be the biggest size they have) using a black lid of these boxes as dividers by cutting them into pieces (Ikea sells clear and black plastic boxes with this click-on lids)
And as a heater I'll use Flexwatt heater tape, and as filter a little sponge filter powered by an air pump, one per 'little tank' in the box, I have an air pump with 4 outflows and calculated (and tried) that one outflow can handle 4 filters, so if I divide a box in 8, I can filter 2 entire boxes with 1 pump
But how many males are left after 8 weeks? Is it like 50/50 with the males and females are do you have more males/females at certain temperatures? Because I can have a few of these boxes but I don't think my parents will agree when I have like 10 of them :P
Is there any way to reduce fry? I know I'll have to euthanize some that are deformed or sick and I'm prepared for that (did it with a dwarf gourami which had the untreatable irido virus and was suffering) but I don't really wanna kill healthy, beautiful fish just because I don't have enough room for them

I already did a LOT of research on breeding betta's and no, I won't be breeding a pair of cheap VT's from Petsmart