Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-08-2013, 02:04 PM   #1 
wibeke

Bitten by the Betta Bug!

Hello!
I'm wibeke. I'm pretty new to betta keeping, but I'm pretty sure the bug has already taken hold. My mom is ready to kill me because I've blown almost all my money on what was supposed to be a cheap pet.

I currently own one betta, a chocolate (or pineapple? I'm not god at this, lol) VT named Tango. I've had him for about 6 months now, but up until a month ago I had no idea how to properly care for him. He spent the first few months living in a cold unfiltered .5 gallon "betta tank." I'm honestly surprised that he's still around with my *incredible* betta keeping skills.
He now has a heated, filtered 10 gallon tank all to himself and he's like a completely different fish. It's been a lot of fun watching his personality come out. His colors have gotten so much brighter, too. Within a week of being in the new tank he's gained some blue, iridescent scales!
The unappreciative little brat still insists on biting my fingers during water changes though. Sigh. He's lucky he's cute.

I've been doing as much research as possible to make my little guy happy, and I've learned a ton- especially from this forum. I figured it's about time I introduced myself.

And I know I can't talk about my betta without pictures, so here he is:
http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps46a60162.jpg
http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps9c96cf72.jpg
He has fin rot right now and I'm working on fixing it with AQ salt (hopefully going to buy some stress coat soon, right now my mom refuses to let me "blow" more money on my fish ), so please excuse his fins.
wibeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:27 PM   #2 
TiffanyP