Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-08-2009, 06:41 PM   #1 
TianTian

Exclamation How to TRAVEL with a BETTA.

My college town, where I live in the dorm, is roughly 2 hours from my hometown by car. Sometimes I have to take Tian-Tian home with me for holidays, etc. I have traveled both ways with Tian-Tian from home to school and back again. The following methods have been tested and proven to work by me. I am not a professional Betta keeper but I know these methods work for me and I hope they work for you.

If anyone would like to add comments or suggestions, please feel free to do so. Unnecessary, spiteful comments will be reported. Thank you for your time.

Please note:
These instructions are for an UNCYCLED TANK. Cycling is adaptable to this instructions. (See step 2 in "Once You're Home" section).

Traveling with your Betta(s)
---

Introduction:

Transporting any animal during travel is always going to be stressful for both you and your pet (Bettas in this case). Your job is to be prepared, flexible and provide for the needs of your pet to ensure that there is a very low level of stress for the both of you.

These instructions are not concrete. They may be adapted to your individual needs as a Betta keeper.

-----
To transport your Betta by car, you will need:

- Small, clear plastic container with small holes in the lid. Must be able to contain half a gallon to a gallon of water (or more, if preferred). If you have multiple fish, have a separate container for each animal. (Note: Don't even THINK about simply taking your tank, fish, et al in the car with you!! Spilled water can damage property and your Betta will be in danger of injuries from inside their tank!! Plus, you don't want broken glass all over your car, do you?)
Example of a perfect container:

- Aquarium salt
- Your net
- Water that has been pre-treated overnight