Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-14-2009, 05:59 PM   #1 
Ilovemyshiny

Question im new and could use advice

recently i discovered a 99cent store selling betas in about one inch cups and very very dirty water. i have now rescued 9. i personally own 6 males and one female. i have fall in love and now want to breed them. i would love any tips. i have little knowledge. i know the basics. any tips advice about breeding and in general about keeping the fry alive and my adults happy. BTW this website is the most amazing thing i have ever come across.
Ilovemyshiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 06:28 PM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

Hello and welcome to FishForum. The best advice I can give you is to tell you to research and read as much as you can about breeding bettas. The breeding pair has to be conditioned first. Then you need a 10 or 20 gallon breeding tank. You need to know how to set it up,what to do when you actually put them together and what to feed the fry. Fry need live food. Then you'll need a LOT of jars to put each individual baby fish in once they're big enough, then you'll need to find homes for all of them. Hope this helps.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 06:32 PM   #3 
Ilovemyshiny

question how many fry do they generally produce. and what is this "conditioning" every one speaks of. i know about the bubble nest the females eggs how long till the eggs hatch, you know the basics. i have been reading ALOT im tying to collect all the info. here are some different questions do betas NEED the air bubbles?
Old 06-14-2009, 06:48 PM   #4 
IonBaller07